Sydney Food Blogger Mad Hatter Spring Picnic

So I can be terribly shy, but I worked up the courage and spent 5hours of my Saturday mingling and meeting great new people and making new friends, as well as taking loads of food photos and devouring various goodies, joining 40 or so food bloggers at a "Mad Hatter" themed Sydney Spring Picnic. It was held at Centennial Park on a gloomy looking Saturday, which may have been a blessing in disguise – if it was stinking hot my fresh cream would have melted…

It was a potluck picnic, so I had spent the night before making macarons for the 2nd time – this time I made raspberry, lemon and white chocolate macarons. The first batch I made failed and were overcooked and too crunchy… so I gave them to Helen and she loved them crunchy yay for no wastage. The batches after this were perfect but still lacking the pinkish colour I wanted, perhaps more food colouring next time. To make up for the lacklustre colour I decorated them each with a small edible rose petal. Macarons weren’t enough so I also made a chiffon cake using a blend of Earl Grey and Exotic Fruit tea (both from Taylors of Harrogate) and topped it off with fresh cream and a sprinkling of rose petals.

 
I had a freakin fantastic time on Saturday, all thanks to all the very friendly food bloggers. A big thank you to Karen from Citrus and Candy and Billy from A Table For Two (you can watch an awesome video of the hats at A Table For Two)
Also, my name tag kept falling off, so if you were there and I didn’t get around to saying hi – my name is Ayana and I was wearing Minnie Mouse ears ๐Ÿ˜€ It was nice to meet you all.

Of course being a food bloggers picnic, you’d expect the picnic spread to be amazzzing – and it was!! Everything was delicious!! Take a look for yourself as you drool over the next few photos…

 
My dish – Earl Grey tea Chiffon Cake and Lemon, White Chocolate Macarons

Sydney Food Bloggers Spring Picnic

 
AWESOME Chocolate and Salted Caramel cake by Anna from A Diary of a Ladybird

 
Mini Burgers and Shortbread Tartlets by Fat Belly Club

 
Mad Hatter cupcakes from YaYa’s Yum Yums

 
Kuih by Rosalind from Rasa Rosa

 
Cake Pops from Sugarlace

 
Broccoli Muffins from Eat Show Tell
How freakin cute is the lunch box!!!!

 
Thai Fish Cakes by Anita from No Red Meat
(Kitchen-Aid worthy!!!!!)-recipe at her blog

 
Pinataaaa
 

Thank you Bill for encouraging me to go because I had a blast ๐Ÿ™‚
22 thoughts on “Sydney Food Blogger Mad Hatter Spring Picnic

  1. How could anyone forget your Minnie Mouse ears! Good to get a chance to meet you, even if it was rather brief =D

  2. ohh 1st time commenting on livejournal..confusing lol
    nice meeting you on saturday! i loved ur mini macarons so much that i took a close up of it!

  3. Nice meeting you Ayana! Your chiffon cake looks and tastes SO GOOD! I am a sucker for chiffon cakes ๐Ÿ˜‰ Your mini macarons were gone before I got my greedy hands on them ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But they are so cute, and I am sure lots of heart and soul went into them!

  4. Ooo! Love how you do your photos ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your cake and macarons looked awesome! Due to the cake box, I’d thought you’d copped out and purchased the cake and macarons from a boutique patisserie. Nice work!

    Was a pleasure to meet you on the day, as brief as it may have been. Til the next gathering… ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. it was so nice to meet you! loved your minnie mouse ears and your beautiful cake and macarons – they were almost too pretty to eat!

Leave a Comment โ™ก

