My Kitchen Rules – Ono style

Our family has become slightly obsessed with My Kitchen Rules whether it be because watching train wrecks being averted is thrilling, the schadenfreude in me loves the prospect of the bitchy couples crumbling and of course Manu and his sexy accent. Anyhoo, my Dad also has gotten really really into the show probably because they’re just “normal” people like us? So for my sister’s birthday he basically gave himself a 3hour limit to cook three courses and he also did all the required shopping during the day haha


Ono House

Entree

Edamame sprinkled with salt
…so yeh we cheated a little cause all we had to do was boil our store bought Edamame

Crispy Deep Fried Prawn Heads
I love this!! so crunchy and the miso inside the head is so so good.

Main

Preparing the Aburi Salmon and Aburi Scallops

Assorted Sushi Roll
Dragon Rolls Eel with Avocado and Tempura Prawn, Salmon and Tuna and Kingfish with Crab Stick


Arranging the Sushi Boats

TADAAAA… we had two Sushi Nigiri Boats
Scallops (raw and aburi), Salmon (raw and aburi), Tuna, Squid, Octopus, Kingfish, Swordfish, Prawn

Dessert

Strawberry Gateau from Breadtop
Again we cheated well… Bill did because he brought it

Chocolate Pudding with Chocolate Ice Cream and Cream topped with Forest Berries
our proper dessert entry 🙂
So it’s not all fancy schmancy but it was really really fun helping, watching and especially eating!! Anyways it’s not like Manu Feidel and Pete Evans needed to be impressed and everyone had enjoyed the food! hooorayy

A few days earlier we had a family dinner for my Erina’s 20th birthday… she requested Tempura.


Tempura Prawns

Tempura Sweet Potato, Water Cress, and Shitake Mushrooms

Chocolate and Cointreau Mousse Cake from Hello Happy
4 thoughts on “My Kitchen Rules – Ono style

  1. Oh my… oh my oh my oh my…. does your daddykins have space for one more in the family? The prawn heads look awesome!

    Is it pan fried or deep fried? Is it pure miso paste inside the head or a mixture? I have to know these things! The crispy just calls to me!

Leave a Comment ♡

