Restaurat Balzac

I have such a huge blog backlog that goes back to like July… oops. And once again I’m gonna blame it on work and being too tired when I get home XP So I decided to try and cram everything into a few posts over the next few days so I can start the new year with a clean blog slate and hopefully I can keep up next year XP

Word of warning… there’s probably going to be ALOT of photos moreso than words.
OKAY let’s do this… I’m going to start at the most recent

In my family we don’t celebrate Christmas with a huge Christmas dinner with the turkey and all the trimmings.. what we do DO is exchange presents and spend the whole day at home with the family and eating leftovers :)) So in a bid to experience the “western” type of Christmas dinner and to spoil my mum abit, we dined at Restaurant Balzac for their 9 course Degustation Dinner.

Very $$$$$ and I feel like we didn’t get as much as we paid for but still pretty good. I’m afraid their oyster was really sandy and it grinded against my teeth leaving my mouth gritty and gross and the pannacotta for dessert hadn’t set properly so was really just like eggnog. Perhaps I should have tried their seasonal degustation instead of the Christmas degustation. My favourite dish was the Ravioli with the Scallops and Prawn so so delicious and the prawn was fresh and plump!! Also the Pork Crackling was divineee, definately needed some more of that!!


Coffin Bay Oyster with Lobster Gelee and Caviar

Roast Organic Turkey Consomme with Cranberries and “stuffing”

Citrus Cured Petuna Ocean Trout with Pink Grapefruit

Ravioli of Scallops and Yamba Prawns with Wild Marsh Samphire

Suckling Pig with Pressed Honey Glazed Ham and Soused Baby Carrots

Rib of Dry Aged 200 Day Grain Fed Aberdeen Angus Beef with Oxtail Jus and Truffled Asparagus

Side of Vegies

Eggnog Pannacotta with Mulled Wine

Christmas Pudding Souffle with Brandy Milk and Poached Cherries

Spiced Orange Truffles with Candied Chestnuts
One thought on “Restaurat Balzac

  1. Happy Holidays to you! :))
    Those food are calling my name….anyway do you eat rice there?! LOL because I am a rice-eater and If i am going to eat all of those food posted.. my gawd that means I am on a diet 🙂 for real LOL

Leave a Comment ♡

